Book Tag

The Hamilton Book Tag

Like everyone else in the world, I’m completely obsessed with Hamilton. Though I am a Musical Theatre student so I suppose it is slightly acceptable. If you haven’t heard about Hamilton, it’s a musical currently on Broadway about one of America’s Founding Fathers; Alexander Hamilton. It’s a rather alternative musical considering that it is performed through Hip-hop! I didn’t think i’d enjoy it initially but it has a rather brilliant soundtrack. Trust me, if you haven’t listened to it I’d go and check it out on Spotify!

This tag was created by Maureen Keavy over on book tube and it’s been flying around the internet for ages now; so it’s time to join in. This does have more questions in it compared to the original tag because they are the ones that I found when looking in other peoples videos or blogs so that I could get an idea how to write this out.

Oh and I have changed the order of some of the questions because I wanted them to be in the order of the songs in the actually musical. Sorry about that if it’s different to the original video.

Alexander Hamilton:
A Book With An Underdog Protagonist

Frodo Baggins from The Lord of the Rings. This little Hobbit has the weight of the world on his shoulders and he still, some how, manages to have the strength to continue onwards. I love Frodo, I really do!

My Shot
A Character That Goes After Want And Doesn’t Let Anything Stop Them

This took me a long time to figure out but I think i’ve finally settled on Feyre from A Court of Thorns and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas. Although I haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury yet, I know that Feyre is the type of character who will go after whatever it is she wants. And no one, not even Tamlin, can stop her.

The Schuyler Sisters
An Underrated Female Character

From the world of Throne of Glass there is the beautiful Nehemia, the Princess of Eyllwe. She’s does so much for Celaena and everything that happened with her still just stops me in my tracks. She’s regularly forgotten and it really isn’t fun!

You’ll Be Back
Sassiest Villain

I don’t really know if you’d class this character as a villain, but they are definitely still extremely sassy. For this question I picked Death from The Discworld Series, by Terry Pratchett. Not technically a villain but still … not a character you really want to meet in a dark alley.

Right Hand Man
Favourite Friendship

Although I didn’t really enjoy this book, there was one relationship that was completely heartbreaking, beautiful and stunning. That is the relationship between Maddie and Verity in Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein. I’ll say no more but it was perfect.

Helpless
A Relationship You Were Pulling For From The Start

Anna and St Clair from Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins. I had no doubt that they were going to get together, it would have been a rather misleading book if they hadn’t, but still I was rooting for them.

Satisfied
A Book Or Series With Multiple POVs

I’m not usually one to read books with multiple points of view because they annoy me. I find that I can’t connect with the characters most of the time because you flit between the different voices. But one series that I did enjoy was The Lunar Chronicles, by Marissa Meyer!

Wait For It
Most Anticipated Upcoming Release

For me this has got to be Heartless, by Marissa Meyer. I love that woman’s writing style so I cannot wait to get my hands on it.

Stay Alive
A Character You Wish Was Still Alive

There are so many characters that I could mention here. But the one that instantly comes to mind has got to be Sirius Black from Harry Potter, by J.K. Rowling. I’m still in denial over that death!

Ten Duel Commandments:
Favourite Fight Scene

There is one iconic duel that always comes to mind when I think about fight scenes has got to be Eowyn vs The Witch King in The Return of the King, by JRR Tolkien. It may be written in sweeping terms rather than technical detail but it still creates a realistic image in my head.

What Comes Next
A Series You Wish Had More

Another series that I could mention so many books in but I think I’m going to have to go with Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs. I know that The Children of the Peculiar has only just come out but I want the trilogy to continue. It could easily have been a five book series. But then I probably still wouldn’t have been satisfied.

Non-Stop
A Series You Marathoned

Marathoning is something that I hardly ever do, I can’t always spend time in the different universes because … well … I usually don’t own all the books in a series. But one series that I did marathon (when it was only a trilogy) was The Selection series, by Keira Cass.

What’d I Miss:
A Book Or Series You Were Late To Reading

There are so many series that I could pick for this! I’ve never really been one to read a series when it’s in the main period of hype. But one book that I will mention has got to be Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor. I’ve only read this book – and I only read it a few months ago – but still I’m so far behind everyone else!

Cabinet Battle #1:
A Book That You Would Always Defend In An Argument

There are so many classics that people will trash now because of the change in language. But I will always defend Of Mice And Men, by John Steinbeck. So many people study this in the UK for GCSEs and they all end up hating it because of the amount of time spent studying it. It’s still a really good book, no matter what people say so I will always defend it!

Say No To This:
A Guilty Pleasure Read

For me, this has probably got to be Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, by J.K. Rowling. Whenever i’m not feeling one hundred percent I just pick this book up and everything is back to normal.

The Room Where It Happens
A Book World You Would Put Yourself Into.

There are so many obvious choices that I could pick here but I think i’m going to have to go with The Hobbit, by JRR Tolkien. Every person wants to step into the world of their favourite book and for me this has got to be Middle Earth. I need to see the Elves, Hobbits, Dwarves all of them! To actually meet them would just be … perfection!

The Reynolds Pamphlet
A Book With A Twist That You Didn’t See Coming

I’m usually one to predict twists so there aren’t many books in which I didn’t see the twist coming. But one that instantly comes to mind is A Game of Thrones, by George R.R. Martin. There were two moments in particular in this novel that I did not see coming and I think everyone knows what I mean when I say that!

Burn
The Most Heartbreaking End To A Relationship You’ve Ever Read

A book that made me ugly cry. Think this is pretty self explanatory really: Me Before You, by Jojo Moyles.

It’s Quiet Uptown
A Book or Series That Put You In A Book Hangover

Though, when I first read this book, I didn’t know what a book hangover was I know that one book that always puts me in a hangover every time is The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak. Think that’s fairly self explanatory.

Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story
A Book/Series You Feel Like Will Be Remembered Throughout History.

There are so many books that I could pick for this question but I have a feeling that it’d be Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. There’s just something about this series which grips people constantly and I know that people will continue to pick up this series again and again just like other will be classics such as Harry Potter, The Hunger Games and Divergent.

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2016 – 75

XXX

 

Leave a Reply

