Top Five Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday | Favourite Non Canon Ships

It’s Wednesday and that means one thing, time for another Top Five Wednesday. This week the theme the five favourite non-canon ships. For those who don’t know, non-canon means any characters that you ship together in a relationship that isn’t a part of the book series or tv or film or whatever.

For those of you don’t know: Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme officiated all the way back in November 2013 by Lainey (gingerreadslainey on youtube) in which a new topic is selected for every wednesday of the year – usually related to book.

Now, shall we get started?

I don’t really ship characters that aren’t together in canon anymore. I’ve been through that stage and I just don’t find it amusing any more. In fact, the only series that I still do this in is Harry Potter because I grew with that and there were a lot of people I wanted to get together who didn’t in the end and although I love who they ended up with; I still enjoy these ships. So all of these ships are from Harry Potter.

Harmony; Harry Potter and Hermione Granger. 

I’ve never romantically shipped these two together, it’s not something that I saw between them. But their friendship has always been something i’ve loved. So I’ve platonically shipped them for the longest time. Because for Harry to fall in love with his female best friend, it was too cliche and i’m glad it didn’t happen!

Nuna; Neville Longbottom and Luna Lovegood. 

These two were outsiders and I always found myself rooting for them, specifically for them to fall in love because all outsiders need someone else. I understand why Jo didn’t put them together because it would have been far too cliche and not everyone ends up with their childhood crush. But still, I love them together.

Fremione; Fred Weasley and Hermione Granger. 

This was supposed to be canon and you can tiny hints throughout and then Ron stepped forward and it didn’t happen. I don’t know why I love this so much maybe because they are complete opposite and for them to fall in love would have been so much like James and Lily and how opposite they were. Maybe that’s why Jo didn’t pick but that idea, the mirroring would have been so beautiful and if Fred had still died would have been even more heartbreaking really.

Frangelina; Fred Weasley and Angelina Johnson. 

There are so few hints to this but Fred and Angelina were together and if he hadn’t have died then it would have been canon – i’m not classing any relationship that didn’t last until the end of the books as canon because why not. There is a moment in Goblet of Fire when they are dancing and they are completely mad and I think that shows what their relationship, even though it wasn’t really noticed by Harry, was really like.

Dramione; Draco Malfoy and Hermione Granger. 

In the books I never shipped these two but fan art made me. There is some beautiful fan art out there and everyone needs to see it because it is beautiful! Like people are insanely talented! And their talent caused me to love this ship. I mean every time I reread the series it’s a no but every time I see fan art, it’s a very big yes!

What non-canon ships do you ship the most? Let me know!

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2016 –

XXX

 

10 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday | Favourite Non Canon Ships”

  1. Curious about Draco and Hermione. I never gave that one a thought….. I need a misting fan for the hot flashes I get from Draco’s dad tho. I’m pretty sure Draco will grow up to look just like him after his last growth/physical maturity spurt. What a great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nuna is my OTP!! I really don’t like it that they didn’t end up together. Great post! And I would have loved Fremione as well, I never considered it until J.K. Rowling said that she was originally planning to get them together, but now I am disappointing it didn’t happen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

