Monthly Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up | October 2016

So this month I read eight books. Some rather glorious and others that were not so.

Alice, by Christina Henry

In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo with the screams of the poor souls inside. In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blond, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place – just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood.

Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago. Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful. And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the Rabbit waits for Alice.

I rather enjoyed this book but it was rushed. Really pushed. I mean it was only just 300 pages long when it could been so much longer. There were details that were missed for no apparent just the author’s laziness and I know that it’s not easy to write a novel but really was rushed. It’s a good idea and it could have been amazing. It just wasn’t.

Hence why I gave it ***

Billy and Me, by Giovanna Fletcher

Sophie May has a secret.
One that she’s successfully kept for years. It’s meant that she’s had to give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay in her village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop.

But then she meets the gorgeous Billy – an actor with ambitions to make it to the top. And when they fall in love, Sophie is whipped away from the comfort of her life into Billy’s glamorous – but ruthless – world.

Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy? And most of all, is she ready for her secret heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?

This could have been an absolute gem but there was just something lacking and i’m not sure what the something is. Maybe it was the fact that I was waiting for this jaw dropping secret that really wasn’t jaw dropping. Yes the relationship between the Sophie and Billy was cute. But there were moments when I felt that Billy was a complete arse! Like he really was and yes, it was refreshing to have this perfect couple that have no faults what so ever. But still he was awful at times.

And that’s why I gave it ***

The Looking Glass Wars, by Frank Beddor

This graphic novel tells the story of Alyss Heart, heir to the Wonderland throne, who has to flee through the pool of tears to escape the murderous aunt Redd, she finds herself lost and alone in Victorian London. Befriended by the aspiring author named Lewis Carrol, Alyss tells the violent, heartbreaking story of her young life.

Awful. Absolutely awful. The graphics were bad and there was barely any storyline at all. I didn’t like the characters and i don’t really, it just wasn’t fun. The blurb made it sound really interesting and it just annoyed me.
It doesn’t even really deserve *

Mary Poppins Opens The Door, by P.L. Travers

Mary Poppins reappears for the third time, restoring order to Number Seventeen Cherry Tree lane. According to the tape measure, Jane and Michael have grown “worse and worse” since she went away. But the children won’t have time to be naughty with all that Mary has planned for them. A visit to Mr Twigley’s music bow-filled attic, an encounter with the Marble boy, and a ride on Miss Calico’s enchanted can canes are all part of an average day out with everyone’s favourite nanny.

This series really is a gem and I can’t believe I didn’t read it when I was a kid. Once again this story filled me with joy and made it laugh. Though I really don’t know how the Banks afford five kids! How and why would Mrs Banks put herself through that? But it was still adorable and I was able to dart through it like all the rest of the series.

And that’s why I gave it ****

The Final Empire, by Brandon Sanderson

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?

It was a slow read to start with all it’s 647 but I soon became hooked. Absolutely hooked with the plot with the world building with everything. Brandon Sanderson is a master! But how is it going to be a trilogy with that ending? Alisha confused!

But it still deserves *****

Tales of Beedle the Bard, by J.K. Rowling

This Wizarding classic is filled with notes and fairy tales. What’s better?

I loved this book when I read it originally and rereading now after a few years just bought back more and more delightful feelings.
Hence why I gave it *****

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them, by J.K. Rowling

This Wizarding classic explains all about the weird and wonderful creatures in the Wizarding.

I enjoyed the notes from Ron, Hermione and Harry; I thought that was a nice touch. And the information about all the different creatures was really interesting but there were points when I really didn’t enjoy it. I dunno, it just sort of bored me.

And that’s why I gave it ****

Quidditch Through The Ages, by J.K. Rowling

This Wizarding classic explain more and more about Quidditch than I could have dreamed and for that it bored me. Yes I enjoyed parts of it but I didn’t really want to know all that detail about Quidditch. I don’t do sport at the best of times and even knowing the story of Quidditch annoyed me. i just wasn’t interested at all. I’d rather watch it than learn about it.

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!
Book Total of 2016 – 86
XXX

1 thought on “Reading Wrap Up | October 2016”

  1. I have yet to really read Tales of Beedle the Bard, it is on my December TBR! I read Red Queen by Christina Henry, which is the sequel to Alice and I liked it, but I should have read Alice first.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

