Writing

Writing Days ||| 6

“The scariest moment is always just before you start.”

– Stephen King 

The third week of NaNoWriMo is over and done with and that means we have just over a week and a half to go. Now I wasn’t sure how this week was going to go. The first week was amazing. The second week wasn’t. So anything could have happened in this mad week.

On Monday 14th November, I wrote 344 words. I had loads of time to write that day, but all I did was procrastinate.

On 15th November, I barely did any better. This time writing 347 words. But Tuesdays are my busiest day so it’s alright; I suppose.

And then Wednesday 16th November happened. I usually have a lie in on a wednesday but I had an early meeting so I decided to go in at normal time. Before my meeting I had an hour a half to write. After my meeting I had two hours to write before my singing lesson and then after that I had another hour and a half before the Glee Choir i’m in. So I was able to get a whopping 6072 words written. I wanted to continue when I got back but my back was really bad and I decided to curl up and watch a film instead. At this point in the week my word total had finally gone up to 42985.

On Thursday, day 17 of NaNoWriMo, I didn’t have a lot of time to write. Yes I could have made time but I didn’t. I did have an extra two hours when one of my workshops had been cancelled but I was doing a lot of planning during that as well as some work for a seminar later that day. So I only wrote 128 words.

I had loads of time on day 18 because I finish at eleven but I kept procrastinating all day. I watched another film and then just sort of lay about for ages doing nothing. So I wrote 104 words.

The 19th November was much better than two other days though I still didn’t actually write as much as I’d have liked. But I did talk to a friend about the plot for a few hours and she seemed to love it and that did make me want to write loads more! Oh and my mum came to stay with me because she had a course and didn’t want to spend money on a hotel. So I spent some time catching up with her. Which I feel is a valid excuse … right.

And then Sunday 20th November happened. My goal for this day was actually write ten thousand words. Which I didn’t end up doing but I’m fine with not doing that because of what happened. Ready …. I hit 50,000 words. I won NaNo! I’m still completely amazed that I’ve done it. I struggled so much last year and I’ve done it on day 20. Like how! Now the book is nowhere near done. I’m only just about half way through and I know that there are quite a few scenes that are going to be added in editing because it’s just been action, action, action lately. And anyone who reads any of my work well they won’t feel the emotions that I felt when I was writing a particular scene. I’m still going to aim for 100,000 to 120,000 words and it’d be really nice to finish November with about 75,000 words and since I wrote 30,000 in the first week. I think that that’s possible.

On a side note, can I ask people’s feelings about sex scenes? My novel is the border of ya/new adult. And it’s violent and times. Like there’s a scene when I quite vividly describe someone drowning so it’s not the level of having sex in a book that i’m concerned about because it’s the same as blood, guts and gore. But I want to know what people think. At the moment I feel like i’m going to fade to black because ummm …. well that’s just who I am and I think i’d probably be a little uncomfortable writing such an intimate scene. But I dunno, I might give it a go. But thoughts please?

Back onto topic. On day 20 I wrote 5590 words which epically bought my total up to 50631! Ahhh! I can’t believe that i’ve won NaNoWriMo!

Please let me know how you’re doing this year and feel free to add me as a buddy my name on the NaNo website is IAMAGEEKINGGINGER and I’ll buddy you back, I promise! Also I just want to apologise for the lack of updates. All my time is being spent on uni work and writing so, despite the fact I have a timetable fitting in blogging, I’m not doing any blogging over than these. Ooops. I’m sure it’ll all go back to normal next week.

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2016 – 87

XXX

Leave a Reply

