Bookmas 2016, Monthly Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up | November 2016 ||| Blogmas Day 2

With taking part in NaNoWriMo, I didn’t expect myself to do that much reading. I mean, I was spending a lot of time writing. But, despite this and the fact that I won NaNo before the start of the four week, I was able to read eight books this month. The same as last month for some reason. To be honest, I thought i’d only read two or three. But somehow I managed otherwise.

The Atlantis Gene, by A.G. Riddle

Off the coast of Antartica, a research vessel discovers a mysterious structure buried deep within an iceberg. Entombed for thousands of years, it can’t possibly be manmade. But a secretive and ruthless cabal think they know what it is and what it means. The Immari have spent a millennia preparing for the return of humanity’s ancient enemy. Faced with an extinction level threat, they believe mankind’s inly chance of survival will means sacrificing 99.9% of the planet’s population. It’s a price the Immari are prepared to pay. Geneticist Kate Warner and Intelligence agent David Vale may have a chance to avert the looming catastrophe, but only if they can decode the secrets of the Atlantis Gene and unlock the truth about humanity’s origins.

I picked this trilogy up for £5 and I was over the moon, because it sounded interesting and fast paced. Just he sort of thing I’d enjoy. Cut to two and a half years later when I’m actually reading the book and …. what the hell was that. The book is nothing like the given plot. It is over complex and slow paced and really never gets to the point. The characters were like wet fish, limp and emotionless, and the plot as a whole just didn’t seem to make a lot of sense. They claimed that another terrorist organisation were the ones who funded 911 and several other terrorist attacks over the years. The claim came out of nowhere and had very little fact behind it. I hate to say it but this probably could have been pulled of by a more experienced writer. But this writer was nowhere near good enough to make this outlandish plot believable. Hence why I have given this book one star.

Throne of Glass, by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena Sardothien is beautiful, deadly and destined for greatness, despite the fact that she’s serving a life sentence in the dark salt mines of Endovier. This eighteen year old, once known as Aldarlan’s Assassin, is given another chance when the Crown Prince of Aldarlan offers her a deal: her freedom if she can win a tournament against other thieves and murderers and become the King’s Champion. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny.

The other month I read Empire of Storms, the latest book in this series and I was blown away by it. So, far memories sake, I decided to reread the first book in the series. And can I say that despite the writing style in this not being up to par with the rest of the series (but Sarah was only a baby so I’ll forgive her for that), the amount of foreshadowing included is insane. Tiny things are mentioned that just seem, at the time to tell you more about other places but the wording shows some of the major plot points that were to happen in the not to distant future.
You never cease to amaze me, Ms Maas. Five stars for you!

Winter’s Snow, by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

This novella tells of Vincent Winter’s and everything that had had to do in order to get into his own personal heaven so that he, at last, can be with Evie Snow.

I enjoyed this book. It wasn’t as good as the original novel, On The Other Side, but I still enjoyed it. But this was less than 60 pages long so it made sense that it wasn’t going to be as brilliant. I had wondered if Vincent had difficulty getting into his heaven so it was nice to have these thoughts eased a little bit.
Four stars for you, Miss Fletcher.

Seige and Storm, by Leigh Bardugo.

In this second book in the Grisha Trilogy, Alina is one again trying to keep her incredible powers out of the clutches of the evil of the world. But despite how far she runs, her enemy is hungry for revenge. He needs Alina. And soon this girl must choose between her country, her power, and the man she loves – or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

I have to admit that initially this book did have a fair amount of second book syndrome. It took a while to get into and there was just something about it that made me feel like I wasn’t going to enjoy it. However, the plot kicked in a few chapters later and I was glad I’d stuck with it. I meant knew characters that I quickly fell in love with and the plot was becoming far better than the previous book. But for me there was still something about it that just didn’t click with me. It was good, but it just wasn’t really my cup of tea.
And that’s why I gave it three stars.

Ruin and Rising, by Leigh Bardugo.

The capital has fallen in this third and final book of the Grisha Series, and our villain is ruling Ravka on his shadow throne. Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the remnants of a once great and magical army. Hopefully with the help of the firebird, the last of Morozova’s amplifiers, she’ll stand a chance at saving Ravka from it’s destruction. But claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s been fighting for.

This started off relatively fast paced and for the first three quarters of the book I was hanging on every word. But then something happened that caused me to start predicting things and these predictions somehow became better than what actually happened in the book. I don’t know if they may have been what was initially planned because, for me, all the hints were there. But they didn’t happen and I just sort of sat there thinking ‘I could have done this better’. It was good, just not spectacular. Hence the three stars.

Mary Poppins in the Park, by P.L. Travers.

This is not the tale of Mary Poppins visiting Number Seventeen Cherry Tree Lane for the forth time but rather some moments that were not mentioned in her first three visits. And maybe that’s why I didn’t really enjoy this book. It just felt a bit unconnected to the rest of the series and for me that just meant that I felt very little love for some of the characters, something that I hate to admit. And that’s why I gave it three stars.

A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas.

Feyre is immortal. After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Fairy Queen, she returns to the Spring court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But everything is not right for Feyre. Her actions from Under the Mountain haunt her and Tamlin is more protective than ever, barely giving her space to breath let alone thrive. And then the bargain with Rhysand, the High Lord of the Night Court, comes into play and everything that Feyre thought she knew, changes forever.

I took a long time to jump on the bandwagon of this book. So many people were loving this and expressing their undying love for Rhysand but I just hadn’t picked it up. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the first book in the series but there was just something about it that made me put it off. But when I read it, I devoured it in just over a day. Yes there were times when I found it hard to read, because of the (perhaps excessive) amounts of sex and foreplay like segments of the books. But once I was able to get past that I just found myself loving the characters and the story so much more. But I do have to admit that there were a lot of similarities between the characters in this and the characters in the Throne of Glass series. Yeah, that’s likely to happen when you write two things side by side but still. Other than that though I didn’t really have a lot of faults with it so here’s another five stars for you, Ms Maas.

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them: The Original Screenplay, by J.K. Rowling

When Magizoologist New Scamander arrives in New York’s, he intends his stay to be brief. However, when he misplaces his magical case and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts manage to escape, he finds himself in more than a spell of trouble.

I devoured this in a matter of hours and all I can think is, this is how Cursed Child should have been. Instantly, despite the fact that it was a script, I knew I was in the Harry Potter Universe. It felt like the books and I have no doubt that the film (which I haven’t seen yet by the way) will be just as good. It gave a background into some other characters without out right saying that this is what some characters have and it explored relationships (with Wizards, Muggles and Beasts) beautifully. I can’t wait to finally see the film bring this tale to life.
Five stars all the way!

And there we go, there are the eight books I read this month. Not a bad reading month really, considering how little time I had to read. How did you do this month? Feel free to let me know.

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2016 – 94

XXX

Leave a Reply

