Top Five Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday ||| Books That Get You Out of a Reading Slump

It’s Wednesday and that means one thing, time for another top five Wednesday!

Top Five Wednesday was created back in November of 2013 by Lainey from gingerreadslainey on Youtube. It’s a weekly meme that revolves around various (usually bookish) topics.

This weeks topic is the five books that help to get me out of a reading slump. I think that’s pretty self explanatory, right?

So, let’s begin.

The Hobbit, by J.R.R Tolkien 

My favourite book of all time is one that never fails to get me out of a reading slump. It brings me into a place that reminds me of my childhood and I love reliving that timeless adventure again and again. I mean who doesn’t love the detail that Tolkien puts into his writing and the amazing characters and world he creates. Not to mention the dialogue, both from the narrator and the different characters. It’s brilliant and if all the other books on this fail, then I know that this’ll help. Nostalgia!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, by J.K. Rowling 

Another childhood favourite. I think loads of people would say that this book helps them get out of a reading slump, it’s very sweet and the writing is so simplistic, in a good way, that it just helps to break through the weird block that is a slump. And the nostalgia helps once again.

Peter Pan, by J.M. Barrie 

One of my favourite films as a kid was Peter Pan and I remember reading this for the first time at like seven or eight or something and I was slightly disappointed. But now that i’m older, I do enjoy it a lot more. I can’t really explain why but I read it a couple of months ago when I was just entering a slump and it let me out, straight away. I mean it is a rather brilliant, i’m sure it’ll always help in some way or something.

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak 

Funny story. I wanted to read this book when it came out in 2005. I was seven … ish. But my dad said that it’d be too scary for me because it’s narrated by death and it’s about the war. But I was still determined to read it. So, I took out from the library when he wasn’t looking and I adored it. He did yell at me for that but laughed at the same time because he did something similar when he was younger. But this book has such fond memories and the plot is just insane that it never fails to help me out of a slump.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams

Honestly, I didn’t know this was a book series until a few years ago. I watched the film with Mr Martin Freeman in and I loved it and then I was at Library book sale and the first book was beginning given away and I was like, let’s read it. And since then, when I remember to pick it up, it just doesn’t fail to knock me out of a slump.

What about you? What books help you out of a reading slump? What about any of the ones I mentioned?

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2017 – 15

XXX

 

11 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday ||| Books That Get You Out of a Reading Slump”

    1. I think Howl’s Moving Castle, for me, is one of those few books that I actually prefer the adaptation. Probably because I only discovered last year that it was a book first

      Like

Leave a Reply

