Book Haul, Discussion

FairyLoot Unboxing!!!!

This month I received my first ever subscription box and it was from the wonderful team at Fairy Loot. Which, I must admit, I paid with my own money because I really really wanted one.

Fairy Loot is a company that does a monthly subscription service that focuses on Young Adult titles (usually fantasy based). You can purchase a single box for £26 per month (plus VAT and Shipping) or you can choose to subscribe for three or six months.

The theme for February 2017 was ‘Emperors and Fugitives), and here is what’s inside.

Of course, the first thing you see when you open the box is the beautiful print that has this months theme on one side and then what is included in the box on the other side.

The first item I saw in the box was the Celestial Gunpowder bath bomb, an item created exclusively for this months box by Bathing Beauties. I won’t be able to use this until I go home for Easter in April, since I don’t have a bath here, but I’m excited nonetheless. Especially because it smells like cupcakes! (That’s it actually scent by the way, cupcakes).

Next I discovered the full-sized Kalusian Sunset candle which was made exclusively for this months box by Happy Piranha. I can’t actually describe this scent other than it being musky and florally at the same. Oh and it’s purple! It looks and smells absolutely gorgeous and is now on display on my shelves!

I’ve got a new friend now. And that friend is this adorable Pop Funko! Guardians of the Galaxy: Baby Groot keychain. I can’t decide whether I want to risk putting him on my keys or if he is going to live with my other groom on top of my shelves. Any suggestions.

Aentee from Read at Midnight has designed a gorgeous coaster with a quote taken from the book Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff that is “she is a catalyst, she is chaos. I can see why he loves her.”

What more does a reader want other than a new book? A bookmark! This amazing bookmark was included in February’s box and was designed by Till and Dill. It’s gorgeous and is called Space Girl.

Talking about bookmarks, some of the best handmade bookmarks I’ve seen are made by the company MyBookmark and we’ve been given a discount card so that we can get our hands on some of their gorgeous, and wacky, bookmarks. I’ll definitely be ordering one soon.

The next thing I found was a sample for The One Memory of Flora Banks, by Emily Barr. It featured some beautiful artwork that pulled out to include the prologue and the first chapter. This book, which is out now, is about a girl who has no short term memory; in fact her mind resets itself several times a day. And it’s about her having to deal with this. Interesting right, not really my cup of tea but i’m sure some people would really enjoy it.

Perhaps my favourite thing in this box is this amazing double sided print by Taratjah that shows Manon and Dorian from the Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J. Maas. I need to find a frame or something for these so I can put them up on my wall, like now.

Personally I couldn’t get into the book that this next item is based on. But I think I was going into a reading slump so I may have to give it another go at some point. This item is a pouch with the following quote “the world makes things for each place” which is from Rebel of the Sands, by Alywn Hamilton. It was designed exclusively for this box by Alisse Courtier. 

And the final item in this box is – of course – the book! For the past couple fairy loots I’ve been able to predict the book that was going to be included. I was wrong this time but I wasn’t disappointed. The Fairy Loot drawstring bag that the book came included a signed book plate by the author and a rather adorable letter from them too. The cover is a lot nicer than I thought it would be from goodreads because it’s so vivid. Oh and I love the fact that basically everything in this months box was purple because purple is my favourite colour and it goes really nicely with my rooms theme (which is purple and black). Oh and the book is Empress of a Thousand Skies, by Rhonda Belleza. 

I’m rather impressed with my first ever Fairy Loot and I can’t wait until I get another one (which probably won’t be for a few more months because i’m a student and I literally can’t afford anything). Next month’s theme is Myths and Monsters. But sadly it has already sold out so you’ll just have to wait around for April to get your own box.

Thank you, Fairy Loot for an amazing box and I’ll definitely buy one again!

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2017 – 16

XXX

2 thoughts on “FairyLoot Unboxing!!!!”

    1. That’s why I wanted to get one. I can’t afford a monthly subscription so it’s such a good thing to do. You’d think the rest of the boxes would have a go too. And the stuff you get in it is just gorgeous!

      Like

Leave a Reply

