Top Five Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday ||| Books You Felt Betrayed By

It’s Wednesday and that means one thing, time for another top five Wednesday!

Top Five Wednesday was created back in November of 2013 by Lainey from gingerreadslainey on Youtube. It’s a weekly meme that revolves around various (usually bookish) topics.

This weeks topic is the five books  that I felt betrayed by. This can be the ending of the book, the way a book went, a character doing something small. You know, something big or small that really irked you. Makes sense, right?

Let’s Begin.

The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern 

I thought I hated this book for a long time which you know if you’ve read my review of it but I finally finished this last month and I now kind of like it. I mean I don’t hate it but I don’t love it either. Look at my review, if you want, to understand what I mean. But the ending, for me, was so unsatisfying. I just wanted a big battle between two cool people. Is that so hard to ask? I definitely felt betrayed by this.

Empress of a Thousand Skies, by Rhonda Belleza 

This was the book in the February Fairylot box and i’ll talk about my full feelings in a review which will becoming out shortly but the ending felt betrayal to me because it felt like a really cheap rip off of one of my favourite series. I won’t mention which one but it really annoyed me. I get that books will be similar to others but this was just … just really annoying. It felt like blatant copy right. That was betrayal for me because otherwise it was a relatively good book.

A Darker Shade of Magic, by V.E. Schwab 

Everybody and their mother seems to adore this book and I didn’t; that’s why I feel slightly betrayed by it. Oh and also because the plot line reminds me of a plot line by my author. Like in places Schwab doesn’t even hide this and it really annoyed me. Why can’t people just think of their own plot lines! I get taking influence from something but why copy it so much?

Heartless, by Marissa Meyer 

I adored this book but it broke my heart and the way that it was set up it made me believe that something slightly good was going to come from it. But now, it killed me and that’s why it betrayed me.

Empire of Storms, by Sarah J. Maas 

That ending. That’s all I’m going to say. Oh and the fact that the next book isn’t coming out in September anymore. No it’s coming out in pay of next year. I don’t care that we’re getting a book on Chaol, I want to know what happen to my babies! Why do you do this to me, Ms Maas?

What books or characters betrayed you? Any rip out your hearts like some of mine? Oh and do any of ours relate? I’d love to know.

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2017 – 27

XXX

4 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday ||| Books You Felt Betrayed By”

Leave a Reply

