Uncategorized

Review ||| Jurassic Park, by Michael Crichton

What You Need To Know:
Title: Jurassic Park
Author: Michael Crichton
Number of Pages: 399
Genres: Science Fiction, Thriller, Adventure
Series/Standalone: First Book in the Jurassic Park duology
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Publication Date: 7th November, 1990
Rating: Four Stars

The Plot:
A billionaire has created a technique to clone dinosaurs. From the DNA that his crack team of scientists extract, he is able to grow the dinosaurs in his laboratories and lock them away on an island behind electric fences, creating a theme park of sorts. He asks a group of scientist from different fields, including the famous Palaeontologist Alan Grant and Mathematician Ian Malcom, to come and view the park. But something goes terribly wrong when a worker on the island turns traitor and shuts down the power.

My Thoughts:

“You know, at times like this one feels, well, perhaps extinct animals should be left extinct.”

Like so many other people, I grew up watching the famous Spielburg adaptation of this book and I, honestly, thought I’d never want to read the book. I’ve had it sat on my shelf for at least ten years but I didn’t want to ruin my love for the film to find that its original source was one of two things: utter crap or completely different. I honestly didn’t expect to either read this. I was content to let it live on my shelves for years, content with it simply being there. However, when I stressed with the impending doom known as deadlines I decided to listen to the audiobook and, surprisingly, I adored it.

“God created dinosaurs. God destroyed dinosaurs. God created Man. Man destroyed God. Man created dinosaurs. Dinosaurs eat Man …. Woman inherits the earth.”

I won’t go into a lot of detail on the audiobook. There were somethings that annoyed me – such as the narrators female voices that were extremely annoying especially for the little girl – but overall it was relatively entertaining and stopped me from pulling out the majority of my hair whilst I struggled to write an essay I’ve been working on since January. No really, I’ve been writing this essay on and off since January and, up until about a week before the deadline, I hated everything I’d written. Anyway, it wasn’t the best but it was a decent audiobook. Especially because it included a lot of, rather interesting facts and figures in this unabridged version, which apparently aren’t used in all copies.

“The planet has survived everything, in its time. It will certainly survive us.”

Now the book as a whole. Please not that this book is definitely for a more mature audience. It includes a lot of gore, something that I did not expect, and talks about several science related things that confused even my brain at times. But you can tell that Crichton did a butt load of research before he started writing this. There are so many unexpected plot twists and surprises that just show how carefully it was planned since there are so many different causes of death possible. Dinosaurs come in all different shapes and sizes so there is an endless opportunity for death and mutilation in so many unknown ways. Now I’m not a scientist so I can’t be certain how accurate it actually is but from the amount of effort that was taken to put it all together, I think it must be marginally accurate; right?

“All major changes are like death. You can’t see to the other side until you are there.”

As usual, the book was better than the movie. Though the movie is still brilliant and I can understand why certain things were changed. Such as Lex’s character because she was so annoying. But this book just shows how far something like this could go. And so, this novel epically combines an action packed adventure with a cautionary tale of corporate and capital greed gone wrong; a powerful allergy of the harsh realities of scientific break through. Because like Ian Malcom said, no matter what …..

“Life will find the way.”

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2017 – 64

XXX

(Also, today’s my birthday so it’s only a short post)

Leave a Reply

