Discussion, Writing

Reading, Writing and Blogging Goals Check Up ||| 2017

At the beginning of the year I decided that I was going to set a load of goals revolving around reading, writing and blogging.

Reading Goals:

Goodreads Challenge.
A good old motivation Goodreads challenge. Competing with yourself or your friends to try and read as many books as possible during the year. My goal for 2017 is 80 books and at this current moment in time i’m on 75. Considering that we’ve got another six months left in the year I think I’m definitely going to smash this one!

Cut Down My TBR.
My TBR at the start of the year was at 170 books and by the end of the year I want to try and cut it down to 100 books. This one I’m not doing too well at currently because even though I’ve read quite a few books, I’ve either have borrowed the books I’ve read or I keep buying more books. So that means that my TBR is currently at 124, I think – there are a couple of my books that I don’t have with me but it can’t be anything more than 130. Which is fairly good, right?

Five Before You Buy.
I’ve done quite well with this goal. I’ve read a total of 75 books this year meaning that I could buy a total of 15 books. And I’m under that at the minute, I’ve actually bought 11. So i’m doing quite well really with this one.

Read More Diversely.
This one I’m kind of failing at. Like so many other book tubers and book bloggers out there, I want to read more diverse things because no one race, religion, gender or sexuality represents all of humanity. Yet most of the books on my TBR aren’t that diverse so I’m really not doing that well with this one. But the sooner I cut down my TBR, the sooner I’ll be able to read more diversely.

Read More Classics.

I think I’m doing quite well at this one so far. At the moment I’ve read at least one classic a month.

  • January = The Jungle Book, by Rudyard Kipling and Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck.
  • February = Z for Zachariah, by Robert C. O’Brien and The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
  • March = The Hobbit, by J.R.R Tolkien, Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley and Animal Farm, by George Orwell.
  • April = Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH, by Robert C. O’Brien and The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, by Robert Louis Stevenson.
  • May = Z for Zachariah, by Robert C. O’Brien (again) and Nineteen Eighty Four, by George Orwell.
  • June = The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho, El Aleph, by Jorge Luis Borge, The Hobbit, by J.R.R Tolkien and Our Country’s Good, by Timberlake Wertenbaker 

Finish More Series.
Another idea that I’ve failed at. At this moment I’ve completed zero series this year which is brilliant; not.

Blogging Goals:

Three Posts a Week.
For the most part I’ve done really well with this goal. I’ve, almost consistently uploaded a review post on a Monday, a Top Five Wednesday post on Wednesday, and a random themed post on a Friday like a haul or a wrap up or a tag.

Upload Seasonal Hauls.
Since I’m only allowing myself to buy a book for every five books I’ve read, I decided that I’d probably only do seasonal hauls; though I can fit another one in if I get a few books for my birthday or Christmas. And I’ve managed to stick to this one at the moment, by the time you’ve read this my Spring Haul will be uploaded. Though you might also have seen a Birthday Book Haul. I’m not quite sure.

Getting Involved.
I really haven’t done that well with this one. I keep wanting to get to know more people who are into the same things as me: on instagram, goodreads, twitter. But for some reason I never do.

Writing Goals:

Monthly Updates.
I really haven’t done well with this one because I haven’t been writing. My course had gotten rather full on and I was going through some things so I’d stopped writing. Though hopefully I’ll be amending this soon and will be uploading monthly writing updates once more.

Editing.
Thankfully I have done a little bit of editing on my first draft but I haven’t started my second draft yet which is something I want to do by the end of September. Though I do think I’m going to try to join in with Camp NaNoWriMo in July. Hey, maybe I’ll be on a third draft by NaNo in November!

I haven’t done that badly really. I mean, it could be worse. How have you done with your 2017 goals? Feel free to let me know!

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2017 – 75

XXX

Leave a Reply

