Monthly Wrap Up

Wrap Up ||| October 2017

And once again I find myself staring at the screen as I type and find myself wondering how another month has come and gone just again. I looked at the number of books I read this month and I know that I could have read more. But I did a 1000 page behemoth.

Anyway, let’s get started.

Number of Books Reads: 10
Rereads: 0
TBR Books Tackled: 10
Total Pages Read: 4006

The Witches of the Glass Castle, by Gabriella Lapore

Mia’s life is thrown through a loop when she discovers her family secret – that she and her brother, Dino, are witches. After they are sent away to study they craft, they begin down a path that will change their lives forever.

Suddenly thrust into a world where handsome warriors command the power of nature and people’s thoughts and actions can be manipulated at will, Mia and Dino struggle to navigate their own allegiances and do what they know to be right when everything around them seems beyond their control.

I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review from Oftomes Publishing and I’m really sad to say that although this book had an interesting premise, I really didn’t like it. For the most part, the writing was incredibly childish and the characters were extremely immature. To the extent that I actually ended up dnfing the book. In the end I ended up reading about half of the book and I wouldn’t have included it in my wrap up at all but it took me so long to read those hundred or so pages that I couldn’t not include it as an actual read. I ended up giving it Two Stars.

IT, by Stephen King

They were just kids when they first stumbled upon the horror. Now they are grown up men and women who have gone out into the big world to gain success and happiness. But none of them can withstand the force that has drawn them back to Derry, Maine to face the nightmare without end, and evil without a name.

This book has been on my tbr for years and I’ve tried to read it so many times. I’ve never been able to get past the first fifty pages because of the slurs used. I know that that is the time period that this book is set but still, I wasn’t ever able to get passed it. Until this time. Now my thoughts on this will be an unpopular opinion of sorts, I didn’t particularly like this. I can understand how great it is and Stephen King is definitely an incredible writer. Yet for me, it just wasn’t as incredible as other people made it out to be. I didn’t find it terrifying, though a few of the deaths did make me feel a little bit sick, and it just wasn’t what I expected. I thought it was going to be incredible but it was just okay. Hence why I gave it three stars.

One Dark Throne, by Kendare Blake

In every generations on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose … it’s life or death.

I read this first book back in January and it was an absolutely incredible book. Honestly, I was some what nervous when it came to reading this book, just in case it didn’t play out in the way that I expected. But then I read the book. It played out in ways that I didn’t expect but I adored every section of it. I’m planning a review on this, at the moment, so if you want to see some more of my thoughts on this then you’ll understand why I gave it five stars.

Crooked Kingdoms, by Leigh Bardugo

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull of a seemingly impossible heist. To do that Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

I adored the first book in this duology and I didn’t think that this book could be any better. But it was. Just like everyone else said. I was hooked from the beginning and am some what heartbroken to think that it’s unlikely I’ll get to read about my babies again. This series is far better than the original Grisha trilogy but it still expanded that series. Once more, I’m going to upload a review soon if you want to read my thoughts that show just why, I think, this book deserves five stars.

Ella Enchanted, by Gail Carson Levine

When she was born, Ella received the gift of obedience from Lucinda the fairy. Ella finds that her gift is truly a curse as anyone can make her do anything, even harmful things. Determined to be her own person, Ella sets out to rid herself of her forced subservience.

The film version of this is, still to this day, one of my favourite films so when I saw this on overdrive I couldn’t wait to listen to it. Now i’ll admit that it wasn’t the best book in the world and I found, once again, that I actually adore the film version more. But it was sweet and the young girl who narrated as Ella had a charming voice. It was sweet, just not incredible. A three star read.

Tower of Dawn, by Sarah J. Maas

After serving out a year of hard labour in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a royal assassin.

Her opponents are men – thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

I’ll be completely honest, I wasn’t planning on reading this. This particular book, taking part at the same time as Empire of Storms, follows Chaol Westfall and he has long been my least favourite character. I didn’t know if I could be bothered to put up with his writing and was just going to read a summary before the final book came out. But, since it was having quite good reviews, I decided I was going to give it a go. And, surprisingly, I’m extremely glad that I did. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it revealed several major plot points that are crucial to the series. My review for this will be coming out shortly but you’ll understand why I gave it five stars.

A Shadow Bright and Burning, by Jessica Cluess

In this version of Victorian England, there are magicians and sorcerers with brilliant powers. The men are highly respected. But they are only men. No women can be sorcerers. Any woman with magic is put to death. Henrietta Howell has magic. She can burst into flames.

Forced to reveal her power to save a friend, she is shocked when instead of being executed, she’s named the first female sorcerer in hundreds of years and invited to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers. For she is declared the prophesied one, the girl who will defeat the Ancients; bloodthirsty demons terrorising humanity.

But Henrietta knows one thing; she knows that she is not the chosen one. As she plays a dangerous game of deception, she discovers that the sorcerers have their now secrets to protect. With battle looming, hoe much will she risk to save the city and those she loves.

I’m still not completely clear how I feel about this book, it took me so long to read it because I couldn’t completely get into it. Yet the premise was so interesting and Henrietta was an interesting character. It wasn’t incredible but it wasn’t awful either. A three star read.

Murder on the Orient Express, by Agatha Christie

Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Samuel Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside. One of his fellow passengers must be the murderer.

Isolated by the storm and with a killer in their midst, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer amongst a dozen of the dead man’s enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again.

I’m always shocked that I’ve hardly read anything by Agatha Christie. Her writing is pure genius and has the similar addictive quality that makes you not want to put down the book until you’ve finished reading it. This book was no exception. I was intrigued from the get go and, just as with all go murder mystery novels, I couldn’t pin down who the killer was until the very end. Brilliant. An incredible four star read.

London: Dirt, by Guy Adams

One minute everything was fine and the next … they arrived. Those that saw them died instantly. Everyone has a story about where they were that day. Except for one boy, Howard. He woke up in the middle for eh road and has no idea who he is or what is going on; though he knows he’s just outside of London. Now he and his new friend Hubcap are travelling into London itself, searching for … something. Howard doesn’t know what yet but is sure he’ll come across it soon enough. Little does Howard realise that unimaginable things, straight out of nightmares, roam the streets. Nothing is impossible. Nowhere is safe. And no one can escape The Change …

This is the fourth book in The Change Novella series which I was sent from Netgalley in exchange from an honest review. Like with the previous books in this series, I enjoyed this book. It was funny and had an interesting premise. Once again, I wish that this was a full length book, one with detailed world building and character development. With a bit of work this could be one of the best new YA series out there. It was good but still needs a bit of work; three stars.

Watership Down, by Richard Adams

Set in England’s Downs, a once idyllic rural landscape, this tale of adventure, courage and survival follows a band of very special creatures on their flight from the intrusion of man and the certain destruction of their home. Led by a stouthearted pair of friends, they journey forth from their native Sandleford Warren through the harrowing trials posed by predators and adversaries, to a mysterious promised land and a more perfect society.

I’m rather ashamed to admit that i’d never read this book until this month. I’d heard of it and had seen it in the library before. But I just never picked it up. But when the audiobook was on Overdrive through my Library I thought, why not. I enjoyed it. I don’t think it’s as heartbreaking as everyone makes it out to be but it’s still a good read. Four stars.

And there we have it. There are the ten books that I read in the month of October. A decent amount really and quite a few rather good reads as well. What was your favourite thing you read this month?

-IAMAGEEKINGGINGER!

Book Total of 2017 – 126

XXX

Leave a Reply

